Seabrook Island

A view of a beach on Seabrook Island.

A view of a beach on Seabrook Island. Photo by Tamra Hays.

View the most recent listings in Seabrook Island

Discovered in 1666 by English Colonel Robert Sanford, this incredibly beautiful island boasts three and one half miles of Atlantic shoreline and another mile of sandy beach along the North Edisto River. An incorporated town of mostly full-time residents, Seabrook is also known for its 2200 acres of lush maritime forest and beautiful salt marshes.

Seabrook was originally known as Jones Island and was home to several rice and indigo plantations. In 1753 the island was renamed Simmons Island by the new owner, Ebenezer Simmons, whose grandson began cultivating Sea Island cotton. A subsequent owner, William Seabrook, renamed the island for his family in 1816. Ownership changed several times after 1816 and in the first half of the 20th century Seabrook became a hunting retreat for the Morawetz family who gave it to the children of the Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina in the 1950’s. The diocese retains a large portion of the island where it operates the St. Christopher Camp and Conference Center.

Sensitive development of the island has ensured that the island’s pristine beaches, scenic tidal marshes, meandering creeks and wooded trails have not been overpowered by the built environment. Recently, the Club at Seabrook Island’s golf courses achieved the distinction of becoming South Carolina’s first “Fully Certified Audubon Cooperative Sanctuary”. The island is a private gated community and guests must make arrangements for access prior to arrival or be accompanied by a resident.